Interview with Mike Feigen

Washington_Nationals_Cap_Insig.svg.png
Photo from Wikimedia Commons Courtesy of the Washington Nationals September 29, 2011. 

Ian S., 4 Coor

I interviewed Mike Feigen, who works for the Nationals, at Winterfest. Let`s see what he has to say about his job!

Bear Facts: What exactly do you do at your job?

Mike Feigen: I am the writer and editor for the Nationals’ marketing department and I also write the team program.

BF: Where do you write your stories?

MF: Sometimes I write them in the office, but a lot of the time I like to be in a quiet place where there are no distractions and I write at home after the work day.

BF: Do you interview Nationals players?

MF: I do. Almost every week I go into the clubhouse and talk with players about what they are doing on the field, what they are doing off the field. And, then at the beginning of the season I go to spring training and interview all of them down there.

BF: How often do you write a story?

MF: I try to write at least one story a week. That keeps me fresh. But sometimes if there is something that is due, I might write three or four articles at a time.

BF: Do you go to away games and home games?

MF: I don’t often go to away games. Mostly home games. I go to about half of the home games.

BF: What is your favorite story you have written?

MF: My favorite story, it might not be the best story I’ve ever written, but it was the first story I wrote for the Nationals. My first big article. It was about Bryce Harper and he was only 19 years old at the time, maybe 20, and it was a really good article and I really liked it and it is still my favorite.

BF: When did you start writing stories?

MF:  I began with the Nationals at the end of the 2012 season, but going all the way back to college I used to write for my college newspaper.

BF: What do you do in your job during the off-season?

MF: A lot of planning for the next season. For example, right now we are at Winterfest and I’m interviewing the players so that I can write our spring training magazine, which has to be done by the beginning of February.

 

